Preventing Users from deleting data

Preventing Users from deleting data

As an administrator, you can use data retention policies to prevent users from deleting revisions, synced files and folders, and backups. Keep in mind that when data is purged from the system, it cannot be restored

 
Instructions

When data is purged from the system, it cannot be restored. For this reason, we recommend setting the policies described below to prevent users from deleting revisions, synced files and folders, and backups. 
 
Note: These policies apply to user actions only. Administrators will still have the ability to permanently delete revisions, files and folders, and backups.

To prevent end users from deleting data from the system:

1. From the left-hand organization navigation menu, navigate to the appropriate organization.

vboxxcloud organization

2. Within the organization, click the Settings tab, and then click the Policies tab. The Organization Settings page displays.


vboxxcloud organization policies

3. Scroll down to the Trim Settings section of the page. In this section, you can ensure that each file revision is permanently retained within the system. To update these settings:

  • Deselect the Allow Users to Erase Revisions checkbox to prevent end users from deleting previous versions of files within the system.
  • Deselect the Auto-Erase Revisions checkbox.

revision settings vboxxcloud

 

4. In the Purge Settings section of the page, you can ensure that deleted files are permanently retained within the system. To update these settings:

  • Deselect the Allow Users to Erase Deleted Files checkbox to prevent end users from permanently purging files that have been deleted from the system.
  • Deselect the Auto-Erase Deleted Files checkbox to prevent the system from automatically purging deleted files from the system after a specified number of days. 


    vboxxcloud organization purge settings

 

5. In the Backup Settings section of the page, you can ensure that backed up data is permanently retained within the system. To update these settings:

  • Deselect the Auto-Erase Revisions checkbox to prevent the system from automatically erasing revisions of backed up files.
  • Deselect the Auto-Erase Deleted Files checkbox to prevent the system from automatically removing deleted files from backups after a specified number of days. 

    backup settings

    6. Click the Save button to save any changes.

 


Was this article helpful?

mood_bad Dislike 0
mood Like 0
visibility Views: 1067